The website is under construction
Equity, Justice, and Human Flourishing

Equity, Justice, and Human Flourishing

IGPA engages a wide range of policy-oriented faculty across the University System who collaborate within focused working groups. Each of these groups is comprised of dozens of faculty researchers representing each of the three System universities. As questions arise in both the public sphere and academia, IGPA scholars use the latest research methods and work together to evaluate current affairs, ask tough questions, and identify possible solutions.

Members of this working group engage in research and formulate policies promoting justice, inclusion, equity, and fullest life chances, through innovative and often interdisciplinary lenses.

GROUP LEADS

Ruby Mendenhall
Ruby Mendenhall

Kathryn Lee Baynes Dallenbach Professorship in Liberal Arts and Sciences | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

rubymen@illinois.edu
Sage Kim
Sage Kim

Co-Lead, Equity, Justice, and Human Flourishing Working Group; COVID-19 Task Force

skim49@uic.edu

WORKING GROUP MEMBERS

Nathan Castillo
Nathan Castillo
Affiliation Assistant Professor, Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership | University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Email nathanc@illinois.edu
Joseph Cheng
Joseph Cheng
Affiliation Research Professor and Director of Special Projects, Gies School of Business | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email jlcheng@illinois.edu
Judith Cook
Judith Cook
Affiliation Professor and Director of the Center on Mental Health Services Research and Policy, Department of Psychiatry, College of Medicine | University of Illinois Chicago
Email jcook@uic.edu
Jacinda Dariotis
Jacinda Dariotis
Affiliation Pampered Chef, Ltd., Endowed Chair in Family Resiliency, Professor and Director of the Family Resiliency Center | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email dariotis@illinois.edu
Tamara Fuller
Tamara Fuller
Affiliation Research Associate Professor and Director of the Children and Family Research Center, School of Social Work | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email t-fuller@illinois.edu
Rosalba Hernandez
Rosalba Hernandez
Affiliation Associate Professor, School of Social Work | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email rherna17@illinois.edu
Jan Kitajewski
Jan Kitajewski
Affiliation Sweeney Professor of Basic Sciences and Head, Department of Physiology & Biophysics, College of Medicine | University of Illinois Chicago
Email kitaj@uic.edu
Jonathan Klein
Jonathan Klein
Affiliation Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and the Savithri and Samuel Raj Professor of Pediatrics, Executive Vice-head of the Department of Pediatrics, College of Medicine | University of Illinois Chicago
Email jonklein@uic.edu
Brenda Koester
Brenda Koester
Affiliation Associate Director, Family Resiliency Center | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email bkoester@illinois.edu
Amanda Lewis
Amanda Lewis
Affiliation Distinguished Professor and Director of Institute for Research on Race and Public Policy, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences | University of Illinois Chicago
Email aelewis@uic.edu
Phoenix Matthews
Phoenix Matthews
Affiliation Associate Dean for Equity and Inclusion and Professor, Department of Population Health Nursing Science, College of Nursing | University of Illinois Chicago
Email aliciak@uic.edu
Brian Ogolsky
Brian Ogolsky
Affiliation Associate Professor, Women & Gender in Global Perspectives Program, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email bogolsky@illinois.edu
Tara Powell
Tara Powell
Affiliation Associate Professor, School of Social Work | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email tlpowell@illinois.edu
Brent Roberts
Brent Roberts
Affiliation Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email bwrobrts@illinois.edu
Anne Silvis
Anne Silvis
Affiliation Assistant Dean and Program Leader, Community and Economic Development | University of Illinois Extension
Email asilvis@illinois.edu
P. S. Sriraj
P. S. Sriraj
Affiliation Research Associate Professor and Director of the Urban Transportation Center, Institute for Environmental Science and Policy, College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs | University of Illinois Chicago
Email sriraj@uic.edu
James Swartz
James Swartz
Affiliation Professor, College of Social Work, Office of the Vice-Chancellor for Health Affairs | University of Illinois Chicago
Email jaswartz@uic.edu
Nikolas Theodore
Nikolas Theodore
Affiliation Professor and Head, Department of Urban Planning and Policy, Director of the Center for Urban Economic Development, College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs | University of Illinois Chicago
Email theodore@uic.edu
Kate Wegmann
Kate Wegmann
Affiliation Associate Professor, School of Social Work | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email kwegmann@illinois.edu
Stevan Weine
Stevan Weine
Affiliation Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Director of the Center for Global Health, College of Medicine | University of Illinois Chicago
Email smweine@uic.edu

Learn More

IGPA is the People’s Policy Think Tank.

The University of Illinois System is a trusted source for top-quality research and expertise drawn from all three universities. IGPA ensures that the work scholars do matters and has real-world impact.

Tap Into World-Class Research

IGPA supports necessary, data-driven, well-informed policymaking that improves people’s lives.

Make Your Work Count

Are you ready to join the policy conversation in Illinois and beyond?

Access Expertise On Tap

IGPA supports necessary, data-driven, well-informed policymaking that improves people’s lives.

View Our Mission
For Policymakers
For Scholars
For Journalists