Loading...
Education, Learning, Child and Family Well-Being

Education, Learning, Child and Family Well-Being

IGPA engages a wide range of policy-oriented faculty across the University System who collaborate within focused working groups. Each of these groups is comprised of dozens of faculty researchers representing each of the three System universities. As questions arise in both the public sphere and academia, IGPA scholars use the latest research methods and work together to evaluate current affairs, ask tough questions, and identify possible solutions.

Members of this working group engage in research in all areas of education, learning, resilience, and child and family well-being to promote justice, equity, and inclusion in all educational, service, and community settings.

GROUP LEADS

Betsy Goulet
Betsy Goulet

Clinical Assistant Professor, Public Administration | University of Illinois Springfield

bgoul2@uis.edu View Profile
David DuBois
David DuBois

Professor, School of Public Health (UI Health) | University of Illinois Chicago

dldubois@uic.edu View Profile

WORKING GROUP MEMBERS

Nathan Castillo
Nathan Castillo
Affiliation Assistant Professor, Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership | University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Email nathanc@illinois.edu
Shelby Cosner
Shelby Cosner
Affiliation Professor, Department of Educational Policy Studies | University of Illinois Chicago
Email sacosner@uic.edu
Tiffany Ford
Tiffany Ford
Affiliation Assistant Professor, Division of Community Health Sciences, School of Public Health | University or Illinois Chicago
Email tford5@uic.edu
Jennifer Geiger
Jennifer Geiger
Affiliation Associate Professor, College of Social Work | University of Illinois Chicago
Email geigerj@uic.edu
Aisha Griffith
Aisha Griffith
Affiliation Assistant Professor Educational Psychology | University of Illinois Chicago
Email griffit3@uic.edu
Maria Krysan
Maria Krysan
Affiliation Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences | University of Illinois Chicago
Email krysan@uic.edu
Amy Leman
Amy Leman
Affiliation Assistant Professor, College of ACES | University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Email bunselme@illinois.edu
Jarrett Lewis
Jarrett Lewis
Affiliation Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology | University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Email jtlewis@illinois.edu
Catherine Main
Catherine Main
Affiliation Senior Lecturer, Coordinator of MEd Early Childhood Education, College of Education | University of Illinois Chicago
Email cmain@uic.edu
Brent McBride
Brent McBride
Affiliation Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Studies, Family Resiliency Center | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email brentmcb@illinois.edu
Hedda Meadan-Kaplansky
Hedda Meadan-Kaplansky
Affiliation Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email meadan@illinois.edu
Tara Mehta
Tara Mehta
Affiliation Associate Professor of Clinical Psychology Director of Psychology Training | University of Illinois Chicago
Email tmehta@uic.edu
Chris Napolitano
Chris Napolitano
Affiliation Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences | University of illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email cmn@illinois.edu
Michelle Perry
Michelle Perry
Affiliation Professor, Developmental Sciences Division, College of Education | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email mperry@illinois.edu
William Phillips
William Phillips
Affiliation Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership | University of Illinois Springfield
Email wphil1@uis.edu
Eva Marie Pomerantz
Eva Marie Pomerantz
Affiliation Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences | University of Illinois Chicago
Email pomerntz@illinois.edu
Elizabeth Powers
Elizabeth Powers
Affiliation Interim Associate Director, Institute of Government and Public Affairs, Associate Professor, Department of Economics, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email epowers@illinois.edu
Josh Radinsky
Josh Radinsky
Affiliation Associate Professor, College of Education | University of Illinois Chicago
Email joshuar@uic.edu
Steven Rivkin
Steven Rivkin
Affiliation Professor, Department of Economics, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences | University of Illinois Chicago
Email sgrivkin@uic.edu
Bernadette Sanchez
Bernadette Sanchez
Affiliation Professor, Department of Educational Psychology | University or Illinois Chicago
Email bsanchez@uic.edu
Will Schnieder
Will Schnieder
Affiliation Assistant Professor, School of Social Work | University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Email ws16@illinois.edu
Kim Schonert-Reichl
Kim Schonert-Reichl
Affiliation Professor, Department of Psychology, NoVo Foundation Endowed Chair in Social and Emotional Learning | University or Illinois Chicago
Email reichl@uic.edu
Jim Shriner
Jim Shriner
Affiliation Associate Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email jshriner@illinois.edu
Elizabeth A. L. Stine-Morrow
Elizabeth A. L. Stine-Morrow
Affiliation Professor, Department of Psychology and Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email eals@illinois.edu
Benjamin M. Superfine
Benjamin M. Superfine
Affiliation Professor and Chair, Department of Educational Policy Studies, College of Education | University of illinois Chicago
Email bsuperfi@uic.edu
Rebecca Lynn Thornton
Rebecca Lynn Thornton
Affiliation Associate Professor, Department of Economics, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email rebeccat@illinois.edu
Michael Tissenbaum
Michael Tissenbaum
Affiliation Assistant Professor, College of Education | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email miketiss@illinois.edu
Maria Varelas
Maria Varelas
Affiliation Professor and Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education | University of Illinois Chicago
Email mvarelas@uic.edu
Min Zhan
Min Zhan
Affiliation Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor, School of Social Work | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Email mzhan@illinois.edu
Katherine Zinsser
Katherine Zinsser
Affiliation Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies Community and Applied Developmental Psychology | University of Illinois Chicago
Email kzinsser@uic.edu

Learn More

IGPA is the People’s Policy Think Tank.

The University of Illinois System is a trusted source for top-quality research and expertise drawn from all three universities. IGPA ensures that the work scholars do matters and has real-world impact.

Tap Into World-Class Research

IGPA supports necessary, data-driven, well-informed policymaking that improves people’s lives.

Make Your Work Count

Are you ready to join the policy conversation in Illinois and beyond?

Access Expertise On Tap

IGPA supports necessary, data-driven, well-informed policymaking that improves people’s lives.

View Our Mission
For Policymakers
For Scholars
For Journalists